Central Algoma Branch News


Covid-19 update:

Monthly meetings are  to return in the spring of 2021. Interest  groups will attempt to run starting in the fall following the Covid-19 regulations at that time.


Central Algoma welcomes new members to our branch of  Retired Women Teachers. We enjoy 5-6 luncheon events throughout the year in addition to six interest groups, which include crafts, book club, theme dinners, games, hiking and all involve having fun. These are outlined in our newsletters and posted on the site.

To join us please contact:
Branch President: Jean    fletcherlake@hotmail.com
or Secretary: Maureen – alnmoe@shaw.ca

Upcoming Events






Thursday, September 12, 2019 

“We Hear You” 

Time: 11 a.m. 

Place: Bar River Hall 

Cost: $15 

Speaker: Kerri Tuckett, Canadian Hearing Society 

Members bring a potential member who will receive a free lunch. 

Sign up for interest groups 

Caterer: UCW/WI 

Wednesday, October 23, 2019 

Joint meeting with the Sault Group 

Time: ?. 

Place: Sault Ste. Marie 

Cost: ? 

Speaker: Provincial President: Karen Clark-Lauzon, Insurance Convenor: Donna Hemeron 

More details to follow. 

Tuesday, November 26, 2019 

Christmas in Technicolour 

Time: 11: 00 a.m. (possibly 10:30 to distribute meat pies) 

Place: Zion United Church, Thessalon 

Cost: $15 

Bring a contribution so we all can do some Christmas shopping at the Silent Auction. 

Wear your most colourful Christmas sweater. 

Bring an article of food for Thessalon Food Bank also. 

Caterer: Zionettes 

Wednesday April 22, 2020 

On Safari 

Time: 11:00 a.m. 

Place: Grand Gardens North 

Cost: $15? 

Speaker: Director of Breton House 


Caterers: Grand Gardens North 

More details to follow 

Thursday, May 21 2020 

“We will welcome Will” 

Time: 11:00 a.m. 

Place: Sowerby Hall 

Cost: $15 

Speaker: Will Samis on Amish / Mennonite communities 

Caterer: Fred Falls 

Tuesday, June 16, 2020 

Tiptoe through the Tulips 

11:00 a.m. 

Place: Bruce Station Hall 

Cost: $15 

Speaker: Anne Cranston: Flower Arranging 

Bring vases and flowers from your garden and we will make flower arrangements to donate to shut-in members 

Wear: your gardening gloves and hats 

Renew membership. 

Information about our Interest Groups is located in the newsletter.

We welcome  retired women with a teaching career in elementary, secondary or post secondary field.  Contact our Vice-President,  Cathy, at 705-843-1485 for more information.

As a member you are  eliglble for supplementary health insurance  that tops up what you would receive from RTO  or ARM.  Contact Marlene at 705-256-1681 or check out the main RWTO webpage.


Feather in our Hat Award

June 2020

With the support of  a RTO grant, our Central Algoma Teacher Support ( CATS) interest group created five collections of dementia  friendly activities for families living with dementia at home.  The activities are in local libraries and day away programmes  and can be  borrowed to enrich the lives of residents and to provide respite for family caregivers.

  June 2007

In partnership with the Bruce Mines and Plummer Additional Union Public Library, the branch’s history binders were digitized to add to  the library’s electronic  local history database.


Honouring Exceptional Contributions To Our Branch

2006      Marg Snider

2007      Shirley Kent

2008      Martha Summers

2009      Glenis Johnstone

2010       Ruth Juhola

2011       Marny Pollard/Alice Ward

2012      Ruby Vaughan

2013      Nancy Konzuk

2014      Joyce Ratz

2015      Marlene Falls/Carol Neave

2016     Verna Lapish

2017   Muriel Hornby/Kathy Greening

2018   Gayle Manley, Ruby Buck, Nina Warnock

2019   Cathy Bennett, Anne Wildman

Barbara Bain Award

For increasing our membership


  • within Tier 2,
  • Middle Size Branches

2018 – 2019

  • within Tier 2,
  • Middle Size Branches



CASS graduation award:    $500
Donation to Hilton Beach library:  $300
Winner of book board  Marg McKay: $100.
Donations to 2 local libraries:  $400



Nina Warnock 1938 – 2019
For years Nina was an integral part of our branch, preserving our history in creative and complete binders. She is now at peace.

Rev. Canon Muriel Hornby  1922-2020
Muriel taught elementary school  and enriched our meetings with stories from her life in war-torn England.  She was an active participant in the book club and the theme dinner group. She is sorely  missed.