

Ontario Volunteer Service Awards 2020

To honour the 2020 nominees, the presentations were done virtually through Zoom. The ceremony consisted of greetings from the Ministry of Heritage, Sport, Tourism and Cultures Industries and a speaker on Volunteerism. While they delivered their messages, the names of the awards recipients were scrolled on the screen. The following wonderful women from our branch were honoured at this ceremony:

Marilyn Sutherst – 10 years Heather Touchburn – 15 years Ann Siddell – 15 years Sharon Maskell – 20 years Merilyn Darling – 20 years Sylvia Simpson – 20 years



<u>The Jean Axcell Award</u> is presented annually to a member of the Peterborough Branch of the Retired Women Teachers of Ontario for outstanding service to our branch in many areas and over many years.

This year's (2019) worthy recipient was Marilyn Challice.

Criteria for Cora Bailey Award Recipients

The Cora Bailey Award may be presented to a Branch member who has contributed outstanding *service to her Branch*.

<u>The Cora Bailey Award</u>: Cora Bailey from the Peterborough Branch was RWTO/OERO's first Executive Secretary-Treasurer. She held this position for eleven years until 1982 and wrote the History Book – OASWT 1956-1976. Beginning in 2003, this award was presented in her honour.



The Cora Bailey Award for the year 2019 was presented in May to Marion Philp.

