# **Honorary Membership Award Recipients 2022**

### **Judith Bennoch**

Judith Bennoch was nominated by the St. Catharines Branch and Marilyn Emmett, Past Provincial President. She has served on the Provincial Board from 2015-2022 and continues as Program Coordinator. As Area Director for Area 4 she helped with the reorganizing of the Area 4 Branches.

Judith served on the following Standing Committees: Honorary Membership, Policy and Procedures, Membership Committee, which included working with the Membership Convenor. She created a storefront display at the Ajax Convention entitled Recruitment, Retention and Recognition. This resulted in ongoing support to all Branches, known now as the 3 R's of Membership.

Judith also served on the Rocking Retirement Committee, Convention Handbook, and the Voting and Elections Procedures Handbook. Judith continued her service to RWTO/OERO on the following Ad Hoc Committees: Area Director Role Review, Cora Bailey Procedures Review, Convention Handbook Revisions, Constitution Review - Articles VI, VII, VIII and Virtual Convention Handbook.

In 2020, Judith took an active role in the Online AGM and was an integral part of the Virtual Convention in 2021. Judith is a natural leader, a great organizer and a wonderful support to Branch Presidents and the Area Directors. Judith's many contributions and active involvement in RWTO/OERO at the Provincial level makes her a most deserving candidate for an Honorary Membership Award.

#### Jane Cartier

Jane was nominated by her RWTO/OERO Chatham-Kent Branch. She brings a thoughtful, diplomatic approach to the role of Parliamentarian and was appointed to this position in 2017. In her role, Jane assists the Provincial President in following Parliamentary Procedures at Executive, Board and Annual General Meetings. She is required to be fully knowledgeable of the organization of RWTO/OERO and the RWTO/OERO Constitution. In preparation for the Parliamentarian's role, Jane tirelessly reviewed Bourinot's Rules of Order with its intricacies which she skillfully applies at all meetings.

Jane excels in her ability to base her advice on common sense and the need to move through an agenda expeditiously. Her ability to quickly provide decisions and make recommendations on point of order, drafting motions, wording of resolutions at the Annual General Meetings are highly valued by our members and the Provincial Presidents.

Jane has been active member on many Ad Hoc Committees which have benefited by her collaborative approach, ability to stay focused on the mandate and complete the task using her expertise and knowledge. She actively contributed to the Voting and Election Procedures Handbook Ad Hoc Committee during May 2018 - September 2021, the 2020 and 2021 Virtual Conventions, and all resolutions. She continues to be a most valued member of RWTO/OERO.

#### Anne Wilde

RWTO/OERO Haldimand Branch nominated Anne Wilde for the Honorary Membership Award for her ongoing passion in all that she does both locally and provincially.

Anne was recruited to fill the Assistant Insurance Convenor in 2018-2019, coming directly from her various Branch experiences and followed up as the Provincial Insurance Convenor in 2019-2020. Being a life-long learner and a very compassionate person, she humbly learned how to navigate simultaneously both the Provincial Board of Directors and the Insurance portfolio. She willingly helped our membership learn how to use our special Hospital and Home Care Insurance Plan, and organized and presented in-person Branch workshops across the province during the Open Enrolment Program in 2019. Then she was able to switch gears through the first months of Covid-19 to present workshops online with Zoom, while continuing to help individual members with their insurance concerns.

Anne served diligently as the liaison with our insurance broker, Terry Kennedy, and provided updates to the RWTO/OERO Board of Directors as well as the members.

Anne's involvement with Provincial RWTO/OERO includes interviewing retired women teachers over 90 years of age for the "Chalk, Challenge and Change: Stories from Women Teachers in Ontario 1920-1979", a book celebrating the 50th Anniversary of RWTO/OERO. She also co-edited this outstanding history of our organization.

Anne is recognized for her positive, patient and kind manner in all her interactions.

## **Sandie Bender**

Sandie was nominated for the RWTO/OERO Honorary Membership Award by the Hamilton-Wentworth Branch and Nancy Papiez, Provincial Past President.

Sandie joined the Provincial Board in September 2016 when she became the Area 4 Director for a four-year term. At that time, she worked closely with the Provincial Manulife Insurance Convenor to organize yearly training sessions alongside the Area Meetings and to support the Branches in her area.

Sandie accepted the Archivist position on the Board. With great care and eagerness, she collected and filed the history of the organization that would later be placed into the archives at York University. During 2020 and 2021 Sandie planned the beautiful and meaningful in Memoriam Services for the Virtual Conventions.

In September 2020 Sandie assumed the Recording Secretary's position. She has worked diligently and conscientiously to record well-written minutes of the Provincial Board Meetings. Sandie also collated the Annual Reports for the conventions in 2021 and 2022.

Sandie is a deserving recipient of the 2022 RWTO/OERO Honorary Membership Award.

# **Nancy Bell**

Nancy Bell, RWTO/OERO Provincial President 2021 – 2022 was nominated by the Honorary Membership Award Committee as the 2022 recipient. The nomination was supported by her RWTO/OERO London- Middlesex Branch.

Nancy is deserving to be a recipient of the RWTO/OERO Honorary Membership Award which is the highest award to be bestowed on a Provincial Board Member. She conscientiously fulfilled her role as Chair or Ex-officio of all of the Appointed and Standing Committees during her tenure as Provincial President. She served on the following Standing and Appointed Committees as Chair: Constitution and Resolutions, Convention Handbook Revision, Finance and Goodwill. As Ex-officio Officer she served on the following committees: Honorary Membership, Nominations, Membership and Review with the Performance Appraisal for the Secretary-Treasurer position.

The following Ad Hoc Committees benefitted by Nancy's patient and thoughtful suggestions: Review of Article IX, Branch Organization, Cost Saving Measures, Common Initiative, Marketing, Membership Extension, Review of Resolution #1 as Chair, Virtual Convention 2021 and Convention 2022, "Laughter Lifts Us Up" in London.

Congratulations, Nancy, for answering the new challenges diligently during 2021-2022. Your leadership and untiring energy saw the RWTO/OERO handle the COVID-19 as it presented difficulties meeting face-to-face both provincially and with other Branches. You chaired the Executive and Board Meetings via Zoom, as a new platform, for meetings. Under your leadership, the Board approved consultation with a lawyer regarding a legal opinion addressing the protocol for COVID-19 restrictions.

Meeting by Zoom kept the Board informed and safe. Many special Board meetings this year on Zoom ensured that the business of RWTO/OERO continued. You have been a role model for many as we look to the future which demonstrates that you are a deserving recipient of the 2022 RWTO/OERO Honorary Membership Award.